Conductors and Score Study


Conductor Sarah Hatsuko Hicks at the Inside the Classics blog at http://www.minnesotaorchestra.org/insidetheclassics/blog/2008/02/dog-day-afternoon.html, has once again written about score study in her February 24 post, “Dog Day Afternoon.”   This blog makes my research a bit easier and I’m very appreciative. 

 I had imagined Evan working on score study nearly all the time, especially because he has repertoire holes he needs to fill, and Sarah has confirmed that this is the case for conductors.  She also writes about when it gets crazy or nearly impossible to do any study, something I had not thought much about.  Evan guest conducts, and carries scores with him to work on, but I have found myself sending him on media interviews, meeting with his manager and getting caught up in some social activities that prevent him from score study.  From what Sarah writes, this sounds about right.

At the moment, the section of novel 3 I’m working on has Evan at home in Vienna.  In two weeks, he’ll be in St. Petersburg, Russia, to conduct a rather important concert.  He wants to concentrate on preparing for that concert, especially because he’ll also play one of the violin solos in the Bach Concerto for Two Violins.  I had seen this concert preparation as an obstacle to his accomplishing something else, but now I see that the preparation is actually his first priority and everything else that comes at him will be the obstacles and conflicts.  With one exception….. 

One response to “Conductors and Score Study

  1. I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

    Stacey Derbinshire

Leave a Reply

