Sticks and Drones: Conductor Blog


As I’ve done additional research about conductors and their lives, I’d hoped that I’d find more of them on the internet, i.e. with their own websites and/or blogs.  What was I thinking?  When would a conductor have the time to launch a website and update it on a regular basis?  When would a conductor have time to blog?  Conductors are incredibly busy people, and some are more tech-literate than others.   

There are websites of individual conductors.  Most are simply static statements of the conductor’s bio, conducting schedule, PR photos, contact information, repertoire, professional affiliations, etc.  I know of only one that has had a blog — Giancarlo Guerrero’s.  I haven’t visited his site recently — he’s now the music director designate for the Nashville Symphony Orchestra and I’d be surprised if he continued his blog, although he wrote posts only about once a month.

To my surprise, I recently stumbled onto Adaptistration.com which has an interesting blog written by two conductors, Bill Eddins and Ron Spigelman.  I’ve added it to my blogroll: “Conductors blog.”  Their posts range over music, politics, teaching, audiences, among other subjects.  And by having two conductors writing, it lightens the load for each of them to post often.  I plan to visit this blog regularly. 

Sarah Hatsuko Hicks, Assistant Conductor with the Minnesota Orchestra, posts at “Inside the Classics” on a wide range of topics related to conducting and classical music, audiences and the life of a conductor.  I’ve found her posts to be interesting and informative, and several have helped me in my research. 

When I first began this blog, I was thinking of giving Evan Quinn his own blog, too.  It forced me to think about his attitude toward technology 40 years in the future, and about what his life is like, how he’d choose to spend his free time.  Evan is a low tech kind of guy.  He spends little time on the internet and his e-mailbox is chronically full.  He’s also not in to gadgets.  So, I realized that writing a blog would be grossly out of character for him.  I was relieved, too, because I would have had to write it for him…. 

As much as I still wish I had a “conductor buddy” in my life with whom I could brainstorm ideas or ask questions, I’m finding these conductor blogs an interesting and helpful substitute.  For anyone curious about conductors and what’s on their minds, these blogs are must-reads.

2 responses to “Sticks and Drones: Conductor Blog

  1. I am a public speaking coach and recently blogged about a conversation I had with a conductor about her experiences leading an orchestra in German. (She barely speaks German!)
    I would appreciate your feedback.

    Thanks,
    Sarah

    http://sarahgershman.blogspot.com/2009/08/less-is-more.html

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Posts of All Time on Anatomy of Perceval | Anatomy of Perceval Blog

Leave a Reply

