One Year Anniversary


Last Thursday, March 5, marked the one year anniversary for sending the Perceval manuscript to the literary agent who requested it.  I mailed another follow-up letter to him this past Monday, noting that real-life conditions today echo what Evan experienced in his childhood.   An interesting angle for selling it to editors…. 

It’s been tough to wait.  Especially tough to wait when there’s been no communication at all from the agent.  I remain hopeful that despite the economic troubles we’re having, we’ve come through the worst of it and we’ll begin to see some positive indicators.  I’m noticing already that the list of job postings has gotten longer at Publishers Marketplace.

In a related effort, I’ve completed a list of possible markets for the novel excerpt, The Shadow.  I need to research the most likely ones further before submitting the story to any of them.   I’ve targeted this week to complete the research.

2 responses to “One Year Anniversary

  1. You’re the first friend I’ve ever had who’s an author. While I’m perfectly well aware that “author” is like “chemist” or “accountant”: a convenient job title generally associated with a common set of skills. Yet, reading your blog is the first time I’ve gotten an idea of the extent of work which doesnt’ actually involve “writing” in order to be an “author”.

    I’ll keep my fingers crossed (oder drucke meine Daumen) for you going into the rest of the year.

    • I actually prefer the term “writer” to “author.” I tend to connect author only with books, and writer to everything I write. But either works….

      Oh, yeah, there’s so much more to being a writer nowadays than simply writing. And if publishers had their way, we’d do even more. As it is, we’re still expected to be the salesperson for our writing even when published, although publishers are just as much under the sway of their marketing departments as any other business. But they oddly don’t sink much money into marketing and sales, hence the reason for extensive efforts by the writer….

      I continue to be envious of Virginia Woolf and others like her who only had to write — no housework, cooking, laundry, etc. Her husband took care of a lot plus hiring people to do the rest.

Leave a Reply

