Summer Reading


The lazy, hot and steamy days of July are upon us!  When I was a child (clearly I’m not anymore although I frequently feel like one), my family left town and moved to our summer lakehouse for June, July and August.  While my parents puttered around the yard, gardens and house, we kids went swimming, fishing, hiking, water-skiing, boating and canoeing, and played with the neighbor kids.  Free of school, although not chores, I also spent long hours reading.

What are some of your favorite summer reads?  Share them with us, please!

My favorite book when I was ten years old was Mary Stewart’s The Moon-Spinners.  One high school summer, I read The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings trilogy.  The summer I studied at Cornell University, between junior and senior years in high school, my favorite book was Joseph Heller’s Catch-22.  One junior high school summer, can’t remember which, I read through Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes canon.  The summer of Star Wars, my favorite novel was Watership Down by Richard Adams.  Then there was the summer I finally finished Leo Tolstoy’s Anna Karenina after 18 months of ploughing through it.

This summer, I’m working my way through J. K. Rowling’s Harry Potter series.  I didn’t read them when they first came out.  Instead, I went to the movies.  Recently, I saw the Deathly Hallows Part 1 movie on DVD in preparation for Part 2.  So far, my favorite movie is the third, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban.  I just finished the novel of the same title last night — could NOT put it down.  I’m hooked.  My review will come after I’ve finished the series, though, as far as writing, character, story, plot, structure and dialogue.  Will they be my favorite books for the summer of 2011?

Jeff Lindsay’s Dexter series competes for that honor.  I’m also reading memoirs this summer and more science fiction novels.  As much as I’m enjoying Rowling’s novels, my favorite for this summer could be a book I haven’t even thought of yet….

Leave a Reply

