Only 9 Days Left! Kickstarter Project Update


Kickstarter is not for the faint of heart.  It’s scary.  My project has been live for 21 days and every day I’ve worked on publicizing it, cajoling people into pledging their hard-earned money so that I can e-publish Perceval’s Secret and earn money to pay the bills (I hope).  Only 9 days left!  I need pledges totaling $4421 in order to make my goal and receive the money.  That’s right.  No partial funding at Kickstarter.  It’s all or nothing.  Right now raising that amount seems impossible.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sooooo, I’m asking my readers here to please visit my Kickstarter page and pledge an amount you’re comfortable committing.  Choose your reward or no reward.  Then encourage your friends and family to do the same.  At the risk of sounding melodramatic, I really need your help.  You wll have my undying gratitude and lots of thank-you hugs.

What have I learned from this Kickstarter experience so far?  Well, I do not enjoy fundraising, i.e. asking people for money.  I do not do it lightly.  It is the step before I go into debt at 18% APR.  I am completely committed to publishing Perceval’s Secret as an e-book as soon as I can or by Jan. 1, 2014, whichever comes first.  I plan to use the money to pay the editor, the book cover designer, the e-formatting company, the production expenses for the rewards, and finally, with what’s left over, marketing.  Kickstarter takes a percentage of the total, as does Amazon for processing the payments.  That’s it.

I’ve also learned how easy it is with my computer to make a video.  One of the rewards I’ve offered people who pledge is a DVD of me reading aloud the first chapter of Perceval’s Secret.  I may read more, but we’ll see.  I can do this all on my computer.  I only need to buy the blank DVDs.

As easy as it is to make a video, I really do not like seeing myself talking on film.  I understand completely how some actors feel about seeing themselves in the movies they make, even though they’re playing characters.  That was the hard part about making the video.  I plan to make another video to post at my Kickstarter page early next week — sort of a peppier version of the original in which I was super serious.

I’ve learned that fundraising is hard because people do not want to part with their money, and the fundraiser needs to convince the people that the project is worthwhile.  It is a version of selling, actually.  I’ve been on the other side until now, and I appreciate how the fundraisers I’ve encountered in the past have felt when I’ve politely said no.  It’s tough.  There’s also the fact that the economy is really not back to where it was prior to the Great Recession.  I’m not asking people for thousands or millions of dollars.  There are many levels of pledging, from $3 to $1500 and lots in between.

Only 9 days left to October 21.  At approximately 1:30 p.m. CST, the funding period will end.  If I’ve made the goal, I will receive the money.  If I don’t make the goal, I will receive nothing.  For the publication of Perceval’s Secret as an e-book, for Evan Quinn to meet lots and lots of readers (I hope) and entertain them with his story, please go to my Kickstarter page and pledge!

Thank you, thank you, thank you….

Leave a Reply

