One of Those Days


Photo: Vasillisa/GoodFon.su

Photo: Vasillisa/GoodFon.su

Have you ever had one of those days when the energy for writing just isn’t there?  A day when you want to stay in bed?  Or watch movies all day?  Or read?  Or not do anything at all?

Today, I’m having one of those days.  The rain falling outside my windows right now doesn’t help.  I want to write something, but my mind is blank.  I have no ideas.  None.  The only thing writing-related that truly interests me is to organize my marketing file for Perceval’s Secret and figure out what needs to be done on a daily basis.

During the last month, I’ve been thinking a lot about specific scenes in Perceval’s Shadow, novel #2 in the series.  I have learned a lot in the last 9 months as I prepared Perceval’s Secret for publication.  It’s been interesting to also talk with readers, to listen to their reaction to the first novel.  All this has fueled my thinking about novel #2.  I want to work on it!  But there’s still so much up in the air that is cluttering my time and life that needs to be done, not least of which is major surgery looming in the near future.

writing-2When I find myself having one of those days and feeling frustrated, my usual solution is to write in my journal.  Putting it all down on paper and out of my head helps me to move forward.  Sometimes, however, after journal writing, I’m still without energy and motivation.  What then?

I listen to my body.  As a writer, I tend to focus more on my mind and intellectual pursuits more than the emotional/psychological, physical, and spiritual.  Today, I’m reminded that I need to pay attention to those areas of my life, too.  My body is telling me by not having energy.  My heart beats the rhythm of no motivation.  It’s time to take a day off.

Yes, it truly is difficult to see the forest because of the trees.  Sometimes, it’s best to step out of the forest for a while.

Sometimes it’s a total waste of time and energy to push myself to do things that my body is telling me not to do.  It’s also a waste of energy to feel guilty about taking some time off.  I’ll still feel guilty, though, unless I do something, like read, that can stand in for work.  There is more to life than work.

I’m curious to hear how you all deal with “one of those days.”  Do you push yourself to work?  Or do you take time off?  Or do you do something totally different?

From catexpert.blogspot.com

From catexpert.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

