#YouKnowYouAreAWriterWhen you can flip your own switches. #VotB


I’ve been working on revising a short story, pruning words, tightening sentences, cutting adverbs, the word “now” which I’ve been fond of in the past, and searching for strong, active verbs to replace my wimpy ones. It never occurred to me that maybe I was using a different part of my creative brain for this work until I read Amanda Webster’s blog post below. It makes a lot of sense! And I’m very grateful for my internal editor, that part of my creative brain that loves to revise.

Write on the World

Original manuscript of a revision of "Spi... Even Poe had to revise his work! | Original manuscript of a revision of “Spirits of the Dead” in Poe’s handwriting. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

At various crossroads on my writing journey, I have often happened upon “road signs” that let me know that I am heading in the right direction. These signs make me think, “Wow, I really AM a writer.” One example was when I completed my very first novel manuscript draft seven years ago. You know how it is. It feels like you will never finish. You often wonder if you are even capable of writing a complete novel. And then, one day, you find yourself typing, “THE END,” and you think, “Wow, I really AM a writer.”

At that moment, it feels like you have accomplished everything you need to do. You have reached the end of your writing journey. You wrote a novel! Woohoo! That’s a…

View original post 938 more words

2 responses to “#YouKnowYouAreAWriterWhen you can flip your own switches. #VotB

  1. befriended a writer through a mutual friend. Our friend thought we’did be perfect soul mates due to our writing experience. I discovered the idea of revision was not what she wanted; she was (in her words) a “here snd now” writer. She believes in improvising. She liked the rawness of her work. Let’s just say we won’t be seeing her name at the bookstore any time soon. Wendy

    • Ah, yes. It took me a while to really get into revision work. But when I did, I found that it was far more enjoyable and creative than I’d ever imagined.

Leave a Reply

