Chillin’ Out


Alpha Centauri - the brightest star to the left

Alpha Centauri – the brightest star to the left

Those of you who read this blog regularly know that I struggle through the month of December and don’t feel truly normal again until January 15. It may have something to do with being told from a very young age that a mean elf sat above doors and watched my every move. I don’t know. Or maybe it’s my aversion to the commercialization of the Christmas holiday especially. It used to be far more of a holiday instead of a spending money extravaganza. And the expectations!

Anyway, I love hobnobbing with friends during this season and the holiday is a good excuse. We talk about books we’ve loved this year, movies we’ve loved, TV shows that impressed us, and laugh at the human absurdities of the past year. For me, it’s also important to have my solitude, and this is how I spend December 25th — in solitude for most of the day. It’s amazing how rejuvenating silence can be! My holiday traditions now focus on doing what pleases me, not what is expected.

I would like to wish all my loyal readers peace in 2017, and a festive holiday season, celebrated in the ways that bring you the most pleasure! May your lives be full of music, literature, and love. Thank you for your loyalty, your astute comments, and I hope to see more of you in 2017!

Image from Pixelstalk.net

Image from Pixelstalk.net

Leave a Reply

